top of page

Finding my Inner Uptown Girl

As the school year begins to winds down, and this VERY LONG leg of my life’s journey FINALLY shows some light at the end of the tunnel, I am looking forward to my next adventure. I am already taking steps to establish a career path that will help me continue living and learning in this lovely little city of ours, Saint John. I’ve been talking to myself a little in my head lately (that is nothing new, I assure you)….Here’s a little glimpse:

Step One: Don’t slow down now, you’ve almost made it to the finish line (Graduation!) – CHECK

Step Two: Find a work placement for the end of the year that matters to you – Excited CHECK!

Step Three: Make the most of it – Working on it!

In honour of my recently secured practicum with Uptown Saint John (Ok, and an assignment…), I dove into the social media realm to have a look at what I’m in for, and paint myself a little picture of what’s happening in the heart of the city.

The answer is, there is a lot happening outside my laptop and my desk at school. Between all the reports, tests, and presentations, I sometimes lose sight of all the great things going on in the Port City. Uptown Saint John’s Facebook page and Twitter handle are buzzing with posts about events coming up, delicious food and drinks, and all around good times/places to have a good time. The hashtag #livelifeuptown seems fitting, and I can’t wait to be a part of it.

Most posts, pictures, and video are shared via Uptown Saint John from local businesses, and although 7074 likes on Facebook is a respectable following – there are certainly more than 7074 of us in the area that are a short walk or drive away from all that Uptown has to offer. I notice from my statistical analysis (See, I’m more than just a writer!) that us Saint Johnners aren’t doing all we can do engage with Uptown Saint John’s page. For one, we should be commenting more: I like this, I don’t like that, or I think _______ is a great idea! Or, hey, have you tried the delicious _____ at ______? Is there a hidden gem in the area that you think does great things? Share photos and posts showing that you #livelifeuptown. Promoting our city is not only Uptown Saint John’s job, it’s ours too!

Did you know that you can visit www.uptownsj.com and see a monthly calendar of events? I know many of us hunker down inside during the winter months (like we have a choice during our weekly blizzards, I know) but today the sun is out and we should be too. Help me help Uptown Saint John by engaging with them. Join the conversation! Let’s shoot for a 30% increase in engagement by the end of the summer, and a 10% increase in website visits (Don’t worry, I’ll measure). To help get you "warmed up" - check out this video: Summer in the Square:

Which events listed on the website, Facebook, or Twitter are you most looking forward to? Tell Uptown Saint John about it at www.facebook.com/uptownsj or on Twitter @UptownSaintJohn.

I’ll see you Uptown!

Other Posts to Check Out:
bottom of page