top of page

Do You See MY NBCC?

I’ve written a great deal about the journey I’ve been on over the last two years, and my ongoing efforts to make leaving my comfort zone a habit. Aside from the tremendous amount of support I’ve received from family and friends (thanks for putting up with me!), I owe a great deal of thanks to the Business Administration, Marketing Program at the NBCC Saint John Campus.

I am a proud NBCC student, so I follow their social media activities to stay up-to-date (on snow days!) and show my support (when I’m not doing homework of course). I’m a Facebook and LinkedIn girl myself, but am striving to learn more about Twitter and other platforms (Twitter is #outsidemycomfortzone, but I’m getting there!).

For me personally, although I love NBCC as a brand and what it represents, I am also incredibly loyal to my local community of Saint John. As I’ve said in previous posts (such as Tourism in Saint John, NB – Outside the Box?), my home, family and career will remain firmly planted in this city. I would love to see more social media involvement from the Saint John Campus specifically. I’m proud and excited to learn about what students in Moncton, St. Andrews, Miramichi, Fredericton, and Woodstock are doing to represent NBCC on the official Facebook page – but my heart is in Saint John, and I’m (maybe selfishly) most interested in what is happening here.

As a student, because my days are full of textbooks, reports, and assignments, I generally expect my Facebook time to be ….well, fun….so I would love to see more content from students and staff in Saint John simply having fun, both on campus and in the community. Photos and videos from student events or community outings, especially those submitted by the students and staff themselves, are something that I would proudly share with my Facebook friends to help them understand why I have enjoyed my journey with NBCC so much and why every moment has been worth it (OK, to be honest, maybe there is a few I could have lived without – I had some brutal accounting tests last year!).

There have been a number of social media campaigns recently that have encouraged the NBCC community to submit photos (such as the #YouCanWeWill campaign/contest) and this is exactly what I enjoy seeing. In addition, I’m thinking that simpler, casual, day-to-day photos from in and around the campus could work wonders. Perhaps an ongoing “Day in the Life” photo campaign for each program and campus could be really fun, and would engage both current and potential students. While we are at it, a little ecard and meme fun couldn’t hurt either!

All of this being said, I see NBCC from the internal perspective of a student, so I am already very much connected and I see things from the inside-out (mostly from the windows of the Business Department). It only makes sense that NBCC would also want to attract those who may not yet see the value that I do.

I’m interested to know: What kind of post would make you want to attend NBCC?

Other Posts to Check Out:
bottom of page